Citizen Boards & Commissions

There are various citizen boards and commissions that help make the Village of West Milwaukee a more efficient and better place to live. The Village President makes appointments, subject to confirmation by the Village Board. 

Your Involvement

You should become involved by being a member of a village board or commission! If you live in West Milwaukee and are interested, please contact the Clerk’s Department for more information and/or an application. The application is also available to fill out online and send in (Commission Committee Application).

West Milwaukee Community Development Authority (WMCDA):

The WMCDA has the power to issue revenue bonds to provide financing for qualified redevelopment projects to be constructed by private developers, including elimination or prevention of substandard, deteriorated, unsanitary and blighted areas; the provision and retention of gainful employment opportunities for the citizens of the Village; an increase in the tax base; and the stimulation of the flow of investment capital to the Village which results in beneficial effects upon the economy in the Village. The CDA’s primary role has been to facilitate borrowing for infrastructure and acquisition costs related to redevelopment projects in the Tax Increment Finance Districts and Environmental Remediation District, as well as reviewing and providing direction on specific redevelopment proposals in these areas. 

The Community Development Authority consists of seven (7) members, including a Chairperson, two (2) appointed members of the Village Board and five (5) citizen appointees with background and experience with the financing of projects.

The WMCDA meets the fourth Monday of the month at 6:00 p.m. in the West Milwaukee Community Centre’ located at 1345 S. 47th St.

  • Chairperson Craig Schaefer 
  • Commissioner Steve Schuettke
  • Commissioner Joseph Van Der Linden
  • Commissioner Jennifer Andreas
  • Commissioner Edward Hahn
  • Commissioner Adrianna LaMack
  • Open Position

West Milwaukee Plan Commission:

Plan Commission members need to be prepared for the business to be discussed at the meetings by reviewing each proposal in light of the comprehensive plan and applicable land use. If a major development is involved, they can talk to the engineer or to others to review information. They review planning documents, zoning, conditional use requests, and signage.

The Plan Commission consists of seven (7) members, including the Village President who serves as Chairperson, one (1) appointed member of the Village Board, and five (5) citizen appointees with background and experience with the financing of projects.

The Plan Commission meets the second Tuesday of the month at 6:00 p.m. in the West Milwaukee Community Centre’ located at 1345 S. 47th St.

  • Chairperson John Stalewski
  • Commissioner Carl Knapp
  • Commissioner Richard Lewein
  • Commissioner Susan Stalewski
  • Commissioner Todd Hill
  • Open Position 
  • Open Position

Tourism Commission

The Tourism Commission oversees the collection and expenditure of room tax revenues and makes allowable expenditures for tourism promotion and tourism development. In addition, the Commission shall monitor the collection and expenditure of the room tax.

The Tourism Commission consists of five (5) members, one (1) of which is a representative of the Wisconsin hotel and motel industry. Members are appointed by the Village President and confirmed by the Village Board (Ord. 01-O-2017, adopted February 20, 2017).

The Tourism Commission meets as needed, determined by the Commission Chairperson.

  • Village President John Stalewski
  • Trustee John Ragonese (Chairperson)
  • Trustee Craig Schaefer (Secretary)
  • Trustee Jane Edgar
  • Hotel/Motel Representative Erik Unmuth